Discovering Burma

Thursday, 18 November 2010

Last night I accidentally stumbled on some fantastic music artists from Burma through a Burmese friend on Facebook. It was a moment of big surprise for me or I’d rather say I was totally stunned! I never realized until then that there are such talented songwriters and singers over that part of Southeast Asia. The quality of the songs and level of artistry/musicality are highly distinguished and in the class of great music dished out by talented artists anywhere else in the world. And it’s no wonder then when Time Magazine featured the youth of Burma in a recent issue about how these young Burmese are seeking ways to bring about change through volunteerism, hip-hop, and edgy art in the face of political repression and social divide.

I’ve never been to Burma/Myanmar. I’ve long planned to go there; I’ve read books on Aung San Suu Kyi- who has just been released last week by the military junta; and constantly I get myself wired to all developing events and stories from international media. Now apart from The Lady and the curiousity to get the feel of a repressive atmoshphere reminiscent of the dark days of Marcos’s rule, I have all the more reason to go there and that is to know more of these interesting people brimming with talent and creativity.

Koh Kong, Cambodia

 

One thought on “Discovering Burma

  1. from Caesar Min:

    Ohh..thanks so much Teddy!!!!
    I just read through the post on your blogsite. The way your writing style make me feel great as a Burmese guy 😀
    You may reach and discuss me about our culture anytime if you need in future 🙂

Leave a Reply

