Last Smoke

Last Smoke
(Hualamphong Railway Station, Bangkok)

The chiaroscuro atmosphere that swirls
About like Van Gogh’s night sky
Looks metastasized
Through the haze of orange light.
Objects and figures are shrouded
In a mist of transitory sphere;
And it seems history is pervasively
Aired out from us.
As I locate my boxcar
I sense life losing its grip,
Pulling away, and I see it
Behind me shatter
In specks of light.
At the same moment a new
One is constituted breath by breath
In the dark spasm of air
Until I reach my berth
And brace myself
For the brave lonely journey
Towards geometric blues.

9 March 2003
Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Leave a Reply

