Fun Time

Sunday, 22 November 2009

A Sunday away from Phnom Penh again. And I just have to put up with whatever situation I am in right now as usual, without a fuss. Was that Ibsen who said, “The strongest man in the world is he who stands most alone“?

I woke up to a cold morning on the cusp of daybreak, principally stirred back to life to empty my gallbladder outdoors. I love the feel of the cool wind gently sweeping across the field in front of my house; the jackfruit and mango trees of Korn Lieng’s are swaying and turning more vivid and solid against the creeping light. Shortly, I went through the motion of filling water into a beat-up kettle to boil for my morning coffee ritual. With coffee mug in hand, I listened to the day’s fare of news and bits of info from the BBC worldservice. Strangely, nothing earth-shattering happened in the last 24 hours.

The sun has risen. I braced myself up for a score of things to do but in between I plopped back in the bed with a book of a new Italian talent, Niccolo Ammaniti, whose second novel, Steal You Away, has been giving me some good laugh for good measure. I reckoned I haven’t gotten a bit of a kick or such real amusement from someone’s good writing for a long while. This one rocks to say the least. And my words die here in the meantime…

Koh Kong, Cambodia

   

Leave a Reply

